Be the Hunter, Not the Hunted Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/ Wed, 18 Oct 2017 06:47:18 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Tue, Oct 17, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-17-2017.html <p>Super crappy workout today due to lack of taking care of myself. The workout was mile, 4 mile tempo, mile. Haha idk&nbsp;if you could even call the tempo a tempo but it was an attempt. Not a good day at all but that&#39;s alright, it happens.</p> Tue, 17 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Oct 16, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-16-2017.html Felt kinda crappy, but that's every Monday for ya so no worries Mon, 16 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Oct 14, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-14-2017.html <p>This was the last race of my season, because I&#39;m not going to conference or anything. Pretty crazy that my first collegiate season is already over. The race went well. It&#39;s 2 laps, 2.8k each lap. So 5.6k race. About half of each lap is uphill, so that was fun... I kept the first lap fairly casual so I wouldn&#39;t die on the second lap, and I executed that well. I came through the lap at 10:19 and finished at 20:45 so that was good. I felt like I was able to push the whole time. Good stuff.</p> Sat, 14 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Oct 13, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-13-2017.html Yup, only 3 today. It's all I needed for my weekly mileage and I am very tired. Fri, 13 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Oct 12, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-12-2017.html <p>Warmup to our&nbsp;home course (we&#39;re hosting a meet on Saturday) then 20min steady state, and 3x400m. Felt very very tired today, probably the stress from midterms getting to me. It&#39;s been a rough week.</p> <p>Weights after, then climbing, which lemme tell ya. Don&#39;t expect to do much climbing right after weights. You will be wrecked.</p> Thu, 12 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Oct 11, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-11-2017.html <p>Nice short run today up City Creek. Super pretty up there right now with a few leaves</p> Wed, 11 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Oct 10, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-10-2017.html Workout today, 4x2k then 1k. 2 min rest. Splits were 6:26, 6:50, 6:57, 6:48, 3:05. This was a long one... My legs were pretty tired from the beginning, and 2k's are very long reps. I stayed in it mentally though, and was able to go faster on the last 1k. Nate said he wanted these at race pace for 8k, and these were right around 5:20 pace (except the 1k was about 5 flat) so I was happy with it. Tue, 10 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Oct 09, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-09-2017.html <p>6 easy miles today, Nate is decreasing my mileage by 15% because this weekend is more than likely my last race of the season. So now I&#39;m on 40/47 rotation instead of 47/55. It&#39;s weird being that low.</p> <p>Weights after</p> Mon, 09 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Oct 07, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-07-2017.html Well... That race was interesting. My legs were toast from the gun. And the course was kinda rough because it's a 2k loop and half of the loop is uphill. So it was quite the grind, a tough end to a tough week. Cooled down 8 miles with a some pickups mixed in. Lol that sucked. Shout-out to Sami because it was way nice to see her again! Sat, 07 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Oct 06, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-06-2017.html We stopped on the way to suu and ran on the pipeline trail in slc so that was fun. The leaves are gorgeous right now. Fri, 06 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Oct 05, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-05-2017.html Another workout today, 2x20min at steady state. I averaged 5:54 on the first one and 5:57 on the second one. It's all effort based, and steady state is a step easier than lactate threshold. So I felt pretty good about today. Legs are dead tired though. Did weights, used the normatec boots, and got some graston done on my calf because it's acting up a bit. Nothing to worry about though, just maintenance. Thu, 05 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Oct 04, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-04-2017.html Haha pretty wrecked today. The workout yesterday pretty much destroyed my legs so we'll see how suu goes this weekend &#128514; Wed, 04 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Oct 03, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-03-2017.html Workout today was mile, 4 mile tempo, 1k, 600, 400. Splits were 5:15 for the mile, 5:40, 6:12, 5:47, 5:41 for the tempo, 3:22 for the 1k, 1:50 for the 600, and 66 for the 400. Everything except the tempo was on a 400m grass loop with a really tight turn and fairly long grass. Really good stuff today. The tempo was a little rough, especially the second mile. But I regrouped and got after it. I was with the group for the last 3 things and not far off on the rest. I'm catching up and it's a beautiful thing. P.S. rest was 90sec after everything except 2 minutes after the tempo. Tue, 03 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Oct 02, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-02-2017.html We went up Roosevelt today, kept it pretty chill. Legs are tired, but I'm gonna get good sleep tonight. Fat workout tomorrow. Weights and normatec boots after. Mon, 02 Oct 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 30, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-30-2017.html 6 with Dallin and Chuck, wow that was a good time, it's good to see them again. Then a great breakfast at kneaders plus the girls, also a good time for sure. Then in between conference sessions we played ultimate Frisbee which kinda kicked my butt but it was so fun! Sat, 30 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 29, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-29-2017.html <p>Well... I attempted a 5 mile tempo today. I was alone because the other guys are at Notre Dame and idk&nbsp;where Kyle was. and Dan is injured. I averaged 6:07. It&#39;s probably a result of not enough sleep, and it&#39;s also probably a lull in training. So I&#39;ll take care of myself better and keep grinding through.</p> Fri, 29 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Sep 28, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-28-2017.html <p>Felt super bad today, idk&nbsp;why. No worries, tough workout coming tomorrow.</p> Thu, 28 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Sep 27, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-27-2017.html <p>Workout today! 3x1000m @3:05, and 3x400m @70. This workout was meant for those traveling to get their legs moving and get some work done. Nate wanted me to work harder than them so I paced about half of them and was in the top group the rest of them. It felt really good to be mixing it up with the top guys, and Nate told me to get used to it so we&#39;ll see what that means. Probably lots of hard work. Splits today were 3:04, 3:03, 3:03, 69, 69, 71. Haha Nate said to calm down on the last one. Good stuff.</p> Wed, 27 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Sep 26, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-26-2017.html Weird run today... Nobody wanted to go faster than like 6:40 but I did so I just kind went the second half... Tue, 26 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Sep 25, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-25-2017.html We did 25 minutes of 1min on, 1min off in the cemetery today, the on wasn't anything crazy, 5:20-5:40. Just some LT work. Then 3x75m hill sprints. I felt pretty tired today, but that's to be expected after last week. Weights after Mon, 25 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 23, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-23-2017.html Yes, 15 miles today... I was supposed to do a 12 mile long run, but I only did 5 miles yesterday so I figured it wasn't too much to make up for. I did Ryan's warmup with him, 2 miles there. Then I cooled down with Ben, 1 mile there. Then at about 5:30 I did the 12 mile long run, I felt pretty tired and I had a very full stomach from Costa vida but I survived. Tired but a good day at bob firman Shoutout to Ryan for winning the whole dang thing, and for some stellar performances across the board. And shoutout to the skyridge kids (including Ryan of course) because I missed them dearly and it was fantastic to see them Sat, 23 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 22, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-22-2017.html Chillin after a long car ride and pizza Fri, 22 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Sep 21, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-21-2017.html Kind of a workout today? We did 8x(300m easy, 637m @LT). Nate made the loop, so blame him for the funky numbers. Legs were pretty beat, but I stuck with the group for all but the last one so that was good. We did it in grass and there were big puddles so it was cold and wet but a good time! Thu, 21 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Sep 20, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-20-2017.html Nate actually told us all to go easy today. I don't think I've ever heard him say that lol. Easy 10 hovering around 7 flat. It was kind of a drag, I was definitely feeling yesterday. We've got another workout and weights tomorrow so we'll see how that goes. Wed, 20 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Sep 19, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-19-2017.html Workout today, 5xmile with 3 min rest. Nate told me to go 5:05-5:10ish. Splits were 5:03, 5:13, 5:17, 5:21, 5:12. I feel good about this one because my legs felt like trash on the warmup. Grinded through. The last one was faster and felt better than the two before it so idk what was up with that. Mental stuff I guess. Gotta buckle down and drive sooner. 30 minutes in the normatec boots for recovery, that felt fantastic. Tue, 19 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Sep 18, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-18-2017.html <p>9 miles today, I felt pretty tired until the second half of the run, then things really started picking up. Good times.</p> <p>Weights after, I went hard because we don&#39;t have a race this week. I felt good about that.</p> Mon, 18 Sep 2017 06:00:00