Slow Down For What Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/ Thu, 27 Apr 2017 20:31:54 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Thu, Apr 27, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-27-2017.html <p>Premeet for the 800 tomorrow. 2x200m. 28.36 and 28.36 so that was definitely wild cuz I got the exact same split. Like wowzers. My legs were pretty heavy but felt better as the run went on. Good stuff.</p> <p>20 min core</p> Thu, 27 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 26, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-26-2017.html <p>Nice and easy... my legs were pretty tired, just trying to recover for the 800 on friday!</p> <p>20 min core</p> Wed, 26 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 25, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-25-2017.html <p>Actually felt decent today! It was windy and cold and I went further than planned but my breathing felt good so I just kept going! I&#39;m really happy about this improvement as far as breathing is concerned, it&#39;s promising for the future.</p> <p>20 min core, and climbing tonight. Momentum @9:00 for those who want to come!</p> Tue, 25 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 24, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-24-2017.html Whelp. Speed today. The workout was the same one we did a little while ago, where we did 9 reps of something @800 pace starting at 300m until we fell off pace, moving to 200m and then 100m. Except we did 12 reps. I ended up doing 7 and trying to finish on the bikes because I was hyperventilating and couldn't get it under control. Splits were 45,47,49,34,32,32,31. We adjusted 2 seconds for the wind and had a a 2 sec buffer to hit pace. Kinda frustrating but gotta find joy in the journey I guess. On the bright side, my legs felt fantastic! I just gotta stay diligent with the breathing exercises. 20 min core Climbing with Zack and a couple other guys so that was a great time. Mon, 24 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 22, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-22-2017.html <p>4 miles this morning, legs were heavy but that&#39;s alright! Breathing was a little tight but nothing too bad, probably just a little aggravated from the race yesterday.</p> <p>20 min core</p> Sat, 22 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 21, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-21-2017.html Race today. I felt really good mentally going into it, and I'd been doing my breathing exercises consistently so that was good. First lap was 58, so that was pretty darn good, and it felt like the easiest 58 I've done in a long long time. Then my legs just died on me and they wouldn't respond the last 300. BUT I'll take the victory of my breathing not bothering me, and next time I won't do stair sprints the day before a race lol. Gotta get my legs to respond, time to start back up running. Feeling good physically and mentally. It's helpful to keep perspective on everything. 20 min core after in-n-out. That was fun lol. Fri, 21 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 20, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-20-2017.html I did another stress test at the hospital today... but they couldn't find the key to the treadmill so they had me sprint up the stairs until I couldn't breathe then stuck a camera down my throat. So that was thrilling. I got some drillls/exercises to do to help my vocal cords calm down so those should help a lot, and I'm on my way to being back! Back at practice I just did 20min on the bike to I could try to recover for the race tomorrow... 20min core and ice bath Thu, 20 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 19, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-19-2017.html Aquajogging with Kobe. 10 min warmup, then a ladder from 1 min to 5 min and back down, with 1 min easy in between everything. The fight is coming back. I'm ready to throw down. 20 min core Wed, 19 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 18, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-18-2017.html <p>More aquajogging with Kobe today. Workout was 4x(90sec easy, 5min medium, 30sec sprint, 2min off) with 10 min warm up and 10 min cooldown. My legs are definitely tired from yesterday so that means I did it right I guess...</p> <p>20 min core</p> Tue, 18 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 17, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-17-2017.html <p>Aquajogging with Kobe today. A couple days ago I had a weird pain in my quad that felt a lot like a bone pain, so I&#39;m not messing with that. Just cross training this week and probably next. I will be racing the 800 on Friday though so it shouldn&#39;t interrupt anything as far as that goes. The workout was 4x(50yd hard, 2min rest) with 4 min easy swim in between sets. Definitely a tough one.</p> Mon, 17 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 15, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-15-2017.html 7 after work, I actually felt pretty good and my breathing didn't bother me much so that was grand. I just kinda made up a loop as I went and it ended being 7 miles so that was chill. Also unshoutout to that dumb couple making out in the back of a car at art dye park. I wanted to go hit your window but I was scared about what I might see &#128556; Sat, 15 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 14, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-14-2017.html Between warm-ups and cooldowns with people Fri, 14 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 13, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-13-2017.html No run today. I want to figure out my breathing (I found an exercise that helps!) before I push it and I wasn't feeling it today. Shoutout to Guppy for going to the Bastille concert with me and making that a fantastic time! Thu, 13 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 12, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-12-2017.html Weird run today. I was going to go a lot more than 3, but my HR was 160 pretty consistently and my breathing was bad. It feels like I'm breathing through a straw. I wasn't going very fast either, 7:30's. Idk what else to do to help the breathing... Wed, 12 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 11, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-11-2017.html Just chillin, strides after Tue, 11 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 10, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-10-2017.html I drove to the mouth of AF canyon during practice to try out the paved trail the lp guys have told us about, it's pretty cool. Definitely did a rage mile or two... There was a 5:44 in there. My coach said I can just do whatever this week, I'm not doing speed and probably not racing this weekend, just running on my own and learning to love it again. Later on I felt like going on another run and I ended up going 6 so that was a good time Mon, 10 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 08, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-08-2017.html I don't know how much longer I can keep getting back up and fighting. It's starting to feel hopeless. Sat, 08 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 07, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-07-2017.html I warmed up with Guppy, then I was going to do more miles but I decided against it because it was getting late and I want to save my lungs for tomorrow. Breathing hasn't felt very good. Fri, 07 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 06, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-06-2017.html 6 more with Guppy on a sweet paved trail/road thing. Freaking awesome views. Thu, 06 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 05, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-05-2017.html 6 miles with Guppy in Cali, we found a super sick trail and there were tons of little bunny rabbits so that was pretty neat, and the view from where we were running was pretty fantastic. This place is beautiful. Shoutout to Zack for telling me I'm in the invite heat for the 1600 at Arcadia! Wed, 05 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 04, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-04-2017.html I did a tune-up workout for Arcadia this weekend. Due to the lack of availability of a track, I just did it on the path by the beach and went off the distances on my watch. The workout was 3x(400m,200m) at mile pace. My splits were 67,32,65,33,65,32. My breathing still got pretty bad even though I'm at sea level... Idk what else to do to help it. On the bright side, we spent so serious time on the beach so that was great Tue, 04 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 03, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-03-2017.html Recovery along the ocean this morning so that was pretty cool. I did 5 then 1 barefoot on the beach. Mon, 03 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 01, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-01-2017.html Warmed up 1.5, then got going. First lap was 66-67, and 800 was 2:15. After that my lungs/airway started to seize up and things just went downhill from there. Finishing time was 4:40ish. It's a step in the right direction, but I just wish I was back already. Sat, 01 Apr 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Mar 31, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-31-2017.html <p>Premeet today! 2x400m at pace for tomorrow. Hit 67 and 67. The second one definitely felt better than the first... I&#39;m just ready&nbsp;to go see what I can do.</p> Fri, 31 Mar 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 30, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-30-2017.html <p>More recovery today, nothing super spectacular... just getting excited for saturday!</p> Thu, 30 Mar 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Mar 29, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-29-2017.html 7 recovery with Dallin because everyone else was wasting time and we wanted to get it done. We had some good talks so that was a win Wed, 29 Mar 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 28, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-28-2017.html <p>Speed today! I did it during 4th so I could get to my sports massaage appointment on time... so that was kinda lame. Speed on your own is the worst. Anyway, the workout was 9 reps @ 800 pace. 300&#39;s until you misspace by at least 2 sec, the shift down to 200&#39;s until the same thing, and then shift to 100&#39;s. 1 min rest in between everything (ISH, it was hard to get to the 200 in that time lol). I did 3 300&#39;s and 6 200&#39;s. Splits were 48,47,50,34,33,33,33,32,31. We added 2 seconds for the wind, so I was going for 46&#39;s and 31&#39;s. The wind was crazy. Breathing got bad but I was able to finish this one strong-ish so that&#39;s definitely some more improvement.</p> Tue, 28 Mar 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Mar 27, 2017 http://collinxc.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-27-2017.html <p>Easy recovery. My legs were tired but not too bad. Very rainy. Somewhat cold. Lots of stomping in puddles. Good times.</p> Mon, 27 Mar 2017 06:00:00